PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! In order to help keep the Forum a useful, safe and friendly place for our users, discussions around non-MoneySaving matters are not permitted per the Forum rules. While we understand that mentioning house prices may sometimes be relevant to a user's specific MoneySaving situation, we ask that you please avoid veering into broad, general debates about the market, the economy and politics, as these can unfortunately lead to abusive or hateful behaviour. Threads that are found to have derailed into wider discussions may be removed. Users who repeatedly disregard this may have their Forum account banned. Please also avoid posting personally identifiable information, including links to your own online property listing which may reveal your address. Thank you for your understanding.

Freeholder charging leaseholder an admin fee

Options
Bear with me, I'm a newbie! We are buying a leasehold house. In the lease, there is a clause which states that the company holding the freehold can charge an admin fee of a minimum of £10 when the mortgage changes hands. The lease is less than 20 years old, so inflation hasn't risen much, but the company have told our seller that they are going to charge him £700+. Is that reasonable? It seems ridiculously excessive to me for an admin fee. It's thrown back our moving date by goodness knows how long & our buyers were hoping to move in next week. It was all going too well!

Comments

• Richard_Webster
    Options
    This is a warning that the freeholders are rip off merchants and will think of other ways of extracting money from you in the future. Be warned!

You tell the seller you do not want to buy the house unless he first acquires the freehold, or makes a substantial allowance on the price to reflect the cost of this.
    RICHARD WEBSTER