Casual staff and redundancy

Options
Hi. I have been working part time, on a casual basis for the last 4 years for a company as well as doing my full time job. It looks like they are really cutting down on staff numbers and I really need this job as it pays my credit card and loan debt off, without it I probably couldn't survive and would get deeper into debt.
My question is, if I do get made redundant, am I entitled to anything being a casual worker?

Comments

• 1984ReturnsForReal_2
    Options
    From my understanding there is no such thing as a casual worker only a part-time worker with flexible hours.

If there has been no terminations of employment in the last 2 years you would be entitled to a payment based on the hours you have worked.

I think its based on hours worked over 3 months.

But someone who knows a lot more than me will correct me on the calculations I am sure.
    Not Again
  • 1984ReturnsForReal_2
    Options
    Someone answer this one.

I know some of you can.

Bump.
    Not Again
  • lyndsey80
    lyndsey80 Posts: 637 Forumite
    Options
    Thanks for the bump. I have tried to do some searches on the internet but nothing is coming up. We are called casuals and I can't remember signing a contract, but that doesn't mean to say I haven't signed one, my memory is terrible!!
  • getmore4less
    getmore4less Posts: 46,882 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post I've helped Parliament
    Options
    I think if the employment has been continuous then redundancy is due not sure about notice payments.

Thing is if you have no contracted minimum hours why make you redundant just stop giving you work.

If they do then it will be based on the last 12 weeks that you worked

How are your holiday entitelments beng handled?
  • LittleVoice
    LittleVoice Posts: 8,974 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options