Stooze Pot and Minimum Repayment

Options
:confused: As some of you may have gathered from my previous posts, I am fairly new to this stoozing lark. I have just obtained my first card, a charity card from Bank of Scotland from which I have transferred the entire credit limit to my Egg Money card. My question is this, the minimum repayment is 2% each month which will gradually reduce my stooze pot. Is there a way of protecting this?

Comments

• Milarky
    Milarky Posts: 6,356 Forumite
    Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    The easiest way is to use purchases after the minimum payment is made. (All these cards seem to be 0% for both purchases and balance transfers). Depending on the terms, you may be able to do additional balance transfers also at 0% with no fee during the remainder of the term. In that case a minimum amount (£50 or £100) may apply - as often does - and you your minimum payment at 2% might not quite allow you to transfer. To get around that you would make a small additional payment on the day of the min payment and so 'create' a sufficient balance to transfer back again.

Both options have their advantages and disadvantages.

Something else to consider is being cheeky and asking for a credit limit increase after the minimum period allowed for this. (3 or 6 months?) and use that for further balance transfers if you can.

Finally it's not a significant proportion of your balance (at 2% per month) even over nine months: just 7% average reduction. Is it worth hasssling yourself for an extra 7%? The better option is to get another 0% card (2 times 93% = 186%)
    .....under construction.... COVID is a [discontinued] scam
  • grumbler
    grumbler Posts: 58,629 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options