Tesco Credit Card 0% Question

Options
Hi all, I am on the car hunt and wanting to borrow around £3000 in order to purchase one. As I am wanting to pay this amount off within a 1 year period I was thinking of trying to get a 0% credit card in order to do so. According to this site the Tesco cc is the best bet with 12 months interest free. However I am quite new to this and although I have used a credit card issued by my bank for years I have never had to apply for one. Could someone please clear up the following for me taken from the tesco cc summary?
Interest Free Period

• Maximum 51 days for purchases if you pay your balance in full and on time, and have paid the previous month’s balance in full and on time.
Interest Charging Information

You will not pay interest on new purchases if you pay your balance in full and on time. Otherwise, the period overwhich interest is charged is as follows:

If the account is not fully cleared, interest will be charged on the average daily balance until full payment is made and credited to your account. Therefore, the longer you take to make a payment, the more interest will be charged.
¹ If you pay the balance in full, any interest charge for the period from the previous statement to the date of full repayment will be debited the following month

Does this mean I will be charged interest on the £3000 monthly for not paying the 'full balance' or can I simply make the minimum payments and avoid any interest? Also does my plan seem sound or need some reconsidering?
Thanks for your help, Kie.

Comments

• Moggles_2
    Moggles_2 Posts: 6,097 Forumite
    Options
    Can I simply make the minimum payments and avoid any interest?
    Yes. Provided that you meet the minimum monthly payments required and always pay on time, there's no charge for the first 12 months.

Might be an idea to set up a direct debit to pay the minimum monthly amount. That way,