FTB : Am i in a good position or not?

Options
Just a quick question really to get a bit of a feel as to whether i am in a reasonable position for buying or not.

I currently earn approx £25k and am renting. I am considering purchasing and would be looking at properties around the £140k mark. The only debt i have is the dreded student loan! and it's quite big (£12k+), though i do have a deposit of £35k.

So would it be too much of a stretch to be looking at £140k properties whilst in my situation?

Comments

• AMG2B
    AMG2B Posts: 83 Forumite
    Options
    Hi Supreme - yes, I think really you need to be looking at properties sub 120K - although of course you might be able to get a property listed at 140k for less. But then I'm no expert, other than when DH and I took out a mortgage a couple of years ago we made sure we didn't stretch ourselves too much and we're really pleased we didn't now - we borrowed 100k and our joint income is 40K - it means we can overpay some months, and we don't worry quite so much as we would had we stretched ourselves.
    Everything will be ok in the end, if everything's not ok then it's not the end :)
  • herbiesjp
    herbiesjp Posts: 8,499 Forumite
    Options
    Based on the deposit, and property value the scenario looks good

Looking at the income and the student loan - it looks a bit tighter

How much do you pay on the student loan each month?
    How much is your rent?
    I am a Mortgage Adviser
    You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice.
  • Supreme_2
    Supreme_2 Posts: 133 Forumite
    Options
    herbiesjp wrote: »
    How much do you pay on the student loan each month?

Currently i pay nothing, though it should be roughly £85.

herbiesjp wrote: »