ditching credit cards

Options
Hi all,

Just some general questions.

When I first got credit cards when I was a poor undergrad, I got low limits, something like £200 which was fine by me. As I started use them more and always pay the balance in full, the limits slowly increased. I paid my bills on time etc so I started to get a real credit rating.

I ran up some small debts on a couple of cards recently, then applied for the 9 months HSBC card which gave me a limit of £3k which considering I'm still a student is great and was more than enough to transfer all my balances to 0% and will be paid off within the 9 months.

As I had no credit history to begin with I went for barclaycard and capital one (they do cards for people like that with high interest). These cards still have small limits and high interest due to their nature. I don't really use them and if I do, it's paid in full each month. I was thinking I maybe should cancel them and now that I have a credit rating if I ever needed it I could take advantage of their great offers maybe 9-12 months down the line if I wanted and do some serious stoozing.

I have other cards too, but I would like to keep them as I like using credit cards to buy things on the net and then pay the balance in full each month so I don't want to get rid of these.

What's the deal with canceling a card with a company only to try and get a better on 9 months or so down the line.

Any suggestions what to do?

Does it hurt your credit rating to have about 6 cards? Especially if I'm not using some of them.

Any suggestions what I should for the best of my credit rating to keep it good and considering I may want to stooze at some stage (I know applying too many cards can hurt yoru rating so I'll be careful to time them well apart).

Thanks

Comments

• The_Boss
    The_Boss Posts: 5,849 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Take a read of this.

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.html?t=175234