🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

IVA (I think) with Baines and Ernst

Options
Hi everyone. Newbie here :j

Hopefully I'm posting this on the correct board, so here goes.

Like many people, I have some serious debt problems. 100% of my debts are on credit cards - I have no loans, overdrafts, etc. Just cards.

In an act of desperation last week, I called Baines and Ernst. I'd called CCCS earlier in the day, and I'm sorry to say that I wasnt impressed at all. The guy I spoke to really sounded as if he couldnt care less, and made me feel as if they'd get around to me when they had some spare time. Understandable, I suppose, seeing as they're a charity, but I still wasnt keen on the impression I was given.

So I called Baines and Ernst. I spoke at length with a guy there who went through all of my incomings and outgoings. To cut a long story short, he said that he wasnt sure if an IVA or bankruptcy would be my best course of action.

They will be calling me this coming Monday to let me know what their insolvency practitioner thinks, and from that point, it will be my choice (apparently).

However, having read through many posts which basically slate Baines and Ernst, in favour of CCCS and other organisations that dont charge a fee, I have a simple question to ask.