Wedding photography

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Weddings & Anniversaries
64 replies 4.5K views
andygbandygb Forumite
14.6K Posts
Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
✭✭✭✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Weddings & Anniversaries
Having worked for 33 years in finance, and spent the last year unemployed, I am going to try to set up two businesses - Accounts and bookkeeping, and photography.
The photography venture will be mainly aimed at wedding, portrait, corporate and events.
Would anybody be prepared to give me an idea of how much they were charged, what kind of service they received, how many prints (whether digital photobook or traditional album), and whether or not they were satisfied with the outcome.
I have been a keen amateur photographer for around thirty years, and I have the prospect of shooting a wedding in November (I have covered about half a dozen weddings in my life), and to be honest I am a little nervous, because I do not want to spoil anyone's big day.

Replies

• hells_2hells_2 Forumite
    297 Posts
    Depends on what kind of service you are going to give to your clients. This is uncanny as I spent 5 years as a photographer and gave it up (20 years ago there was no money in it for me, a young bolshy but naive lass without any money behind me to finance myself). I've worked in finance for 13 years.
    Now I want to go back to photography! haha!

Going off my cousin's recent wedding, the photographer was charging...wait for it.... £14.00 for a 10x15cm print!!!!!! Unbelievable!

Everyone nowadays would expect a web preview page of their wedding shots so all and sundry can have a look first. Then I suppose the client gets to choose how many prints and what sizes they want, i.e. bulk order. You'd have to also figure whether your fee for the day is going to include any prints in that. Personally I'd want to pay £xxx amount to the photographer inclusive of say, a standard bunch of prints (to be agreed).