Graduate loan / any loan help

newgrad_2
newgrad_2 Posts: 9 Forumite
Hi all, noob here. I've just read Martin's graduate account guide and don't know whether to laugh or cry.

I graduated last year and have been unemployed since, but at last have finally landed my ideal job for which I need a car. I currently have a graduate account with Abbey with a £2000 overdraft which is nearly maxed out (£1900 used).

I have shown them the job offer and asked for a loan to buy the car and pay for running costs - they said no because of the overdraft (which they will not extend)

I went to other banks and they all said that to get a loan, I need to be with them for a couple of months and will need to have a couple of months salary go through first.

I've asked the DSS if there is anything I can claim for (and repay) but they said no.

It looks like I can't start this job now because I can't raise the money. I can't hire a car because I've not had my license for long enough, and getting a banger or anything else is a waste because I don't have the money for insurance, petrol etc, so finance is out as well (plus they seem to want you to be in the job also so Zopa is also out).

Any suggestions?

Comments

• Morn
    Morn Posts: 216 Forumite
    I take it that you showed them your salary as well?

When I graduated I opened a new account with HSBC (not recommending them specifically), I had secured a job and was given the full works for my account i.e. Overdraft up to £1500, option of a loan etc.

I had an OD on my student account but I kept money flowing into it and have nearly cleared the thing.

If your credit file is ok get into a new bank, open an account and see what they are willing to do for you?

Finally is there anything that your parents/family can help with??

Good luck
    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

--Albert Einstein--
  • newgrad_2