Stoozing and in (minor) debt! - Newbie

Options
Hi all

I am completely new to all this, so hello to all that read this.

A friend recommended Martin's book, The Money Diet and it has been a bit of an eye opener. In short I have consolidated my existing credit card debt of £2,875 onto a Capital One 0% balance transfer card which is interest free until 1 JUly 2007 by which time I aim to have it cleared. Also due to a minor !!!!-up by Capital One I managed to get them to waive the balance transfer fee! I have also opened a new Sainsbury's Bank 0% purchase card which again is interest free for 10 months. I have opened a savings account into which I am going to transfer, each month, from my current account an equivalent amount as I spend on my Sainsbury's card. The aim being to pay the minimum amount due on the card each month and then settle in full before the 0% period expires. A mini-stooze if you like.

My main question is, and I am getting to it!, Martin recommends not attempting stoozing until you are debt free. Can someone please explain. I would have hoped it was possible to stooze and use the interest to reduce the existing debt quicker. Also, and this is where I am being a bit thick, I understand the principle of stoozing, I think, but am struggling to work out which cards are best to use. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• Martinslovechild
    Options
    cb1964 wrote:
    I understand the principle of stoozing, but am struggling to work out which cards are best to use.
    I recommend that you check out the Stoozing website for loads of info on this subject.
    Mortgage Feb 2001 - £129,000
    Mortgage July 2007 - £0
    Original Mortgage Termination Date - Nov 2018
    Mortgage Interest saved - £63790.60
    ISA Profit since Jan 1st 2015 - 98.2% (updated 1 Dec 2020)
  • cb1964
    cb1964 Posts: 26 Forumite
    Options