Do i have a case for reclaiming? Sorry if this has been asked before

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Reclaim PPI & Other Insurance
6 replies 733 views
DLNGLBDLNGLB Forumite
3 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Reclaim PPI & Other Insurance
Hi there,

Pleae bare with me on this, i am new to reclaiming PPI so i will just underline the facts about my circumstance.

I took out a LLoyds TSB platinum credit card in 2002 when i was in full time epmployment and 22 years of age.
The card had an £8000 limit, and it didnt take me too long to get upto that limit.

After a couple of career changes and since then, only now am i in a position to start paying the card off, i find out the following.

In an attempt to start and reuse the card (it expired in Nov 2005), i ring LLoyds TSB to be told the account had been closed NOV 05, i was unware it had been closed as i get a monthly statement telling me the account balance, and payment options etc.

Since having the card, i have ALWAYS paid the minimum amount by monthly direct debit no matter what.

The limit was £8000 but since Nov 2005 (when the card was last used and then expired), with the interest it had grown to £8452, and today i paid of the £452 and will be paying off £2000 in two weeks time (bringing down to £6000 total)

Its my own fault for keeping my head in the sand, but today i only found out that £66 of the monthly £205 min payment was actually for the PPI.

Now the account was "closed" by TSB in NOV 05 when they see it was upto the limit and just never sent out a new card for me to use, and like i have said, i didnt know this was the case until today as i still recieve a statement, and only now am i in a postion to repay some off.

In that time from Nov 05 til now, i have paid £2838 in PPI on an account that was "closed".

Do i have a case to relclaim back those charges?
Or is it my own fault for being ignorant and too scared to deal with the situation until now?

I've canclled the PPI today btw.