Full time job - Full time student

Options
Hi,

I'm unsure about what tax I may or may not be exempt from paying.

I am British, but I had not lived in the UK for 10 years when I returned here to begin a full time MA in September 09.

As I was really struggling financially, I took a full time job in February (working in care, pays £7.50 per hour/39 hours a week).

A colleague mentioned that as I was a full time student, I might be entitled to certain tax exemptions. She also seemed to think that I do not have to pay National Insurance whilst I am a full time student.

Also, as I only worked for about 5 weeks in the April 09-april 10 tax year, and was taxed on that. She seemed to think that I would be entitled to get that money back. Does anyone know if this is correct?

Finally, as I spent the past 10 years in Poland, I did not qualify for UK fees at the university. I was considered resident in Poland and had to pay EU fees and this was also the case when I applied for a bank account (I had to have an international bank account). So, I was wondering if I am considered resident in Poland (and I have full Polish residence papers) and am not entitled to any of the benefits the UK students are entitled to, is it inconceivable that I should also be exempt from taxes?

I would like to hear your opinions.

Siasu.

Comments

• Savvy_Sue
    Savvy_Sue Posts: 46,107 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    siasu wrote: »
    A colleague mentioned that as I was a full time student, I might be entitled to certain tax exemptions.
    It is a myth that students don't have to pay income tax. EVERYONE pays income tax once their income goes above the personal allowance. IF a student is only working during vacations AND their earnings from this aren't going to exceed the personal allowance, THEN there is a form which the employer can complete to enable payment to be made gross.