We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Absolute beginner- which large pot plant in conservatory? Olive, lemon appeal...

Options
Hello all you gardeners from a non-gardener.;)

I've always been impressed by large conservatory plants and finally I have the opportunity of having this myself too!

I'd like two large floor-standing container plants for the corners of my conservatory come dining room.

I've managed to get one on Ebay already. I paid £15 for a Ficus. It is in a large clay pot and the plant is almost as tall as me and looks healthy with lots of leaves. My question about this plant is will it grow fig fruits?

So as not to make another impulse purchase, I thought I would ask here first.

I'd love an olive tree or lemon tree or something else with fruits or else something a bit exotic but with limited space, nothing spikey or scratchy! Oh, and it's got to be as tall as the other plant to match it.

My room has double-glazed windows on three sides, gets the sun in the morning, noon and early afternoon, is centrally heated and is a bright, light room.

My budget about £20. For that money it doesn't have to come from a nursery, as I'll re-home an unwanted plant like the one I got on Ebay.

I'd love to hear from anyone with a conservatory with advice on this. I suppose it would be more of a house plant than an outdoor plant, but perhaps there is some crossover?

Looking forward to your comments....;)

Comments

• nodwah
    nodwah Posts: 1,742 Forumite
    Options
    It depends on what type of Ficus it is - what do the leaves look like? (It's a large genus)

You could grow a grape vine, lemons, olives etc. but big plants will be very expensive to buy - I bought a small olive tree that's about 3 feet tall in B&Q - reduced to £9.99!