New Post Advanced Search

Merton Council

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Parking Tickets, Fines & Parking
6 replies 3K views
davidgowersdavidgowers Forumite
4 posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Parking Tickets, Fines & Parking
I am a disabled driver, I have a Blue Badge, a Motability vehicle and this vehicle is tax exempt.

I went into the Peel House lower off-street council car park next to Morden Station. I had never been in there before. There are no signs outside to inform you of the Tariff or the Terms and Conditions of the car park and there is no information about disabled parking places or if you have to pay.

As I drove around, all the 5 disabled spaces were occupied and I read a sign as I drove past relating to disabled parking. It is on the main Tariff and Conditions notice board in small writing and in blue and in a poorly lit area.

I thought it said that if all the disabled bays were full, you had to pay. So with my Blue Badge on my front seat and having no change (their machines take coins only) I went to obtain some. I was gone two and a half minutes and when I came back, yes, you guessed it, a PCN.

I spoke to the CEO to ask if pictures had been taken and he said yes.

I made an informal appeal, explained what had happened and this was refused. I was informed by the Council that the sign also said that I could park free in any bay if I displayed my Blue Badge but I did not take see it as I was moving.. I waited for the Notice to Owner and formally appealed, apologising for my error however, this was refused. The Council said there was no observation time allowed, I went to get change and that was that. However, the CEO allowed me one minute of observation time.

Out of five pictures taken, only one was legible and the envelope that the PCN came in was completed so quickly that it has mistakes and the time is illegible. The CEO was fully aware that this was a disabled vehicle, as my tax disc says so.