K Codes pls help

Options
Hello All,

I am learning Payroll at the moment to get myself back to work and I am having a great difficulty understanding K codes, I am very new with payroll and just about managing to work out tax and NI, but this K codes had thrown me right off.

I have someone with a salary of £5,400.00 monthly Tax Code K682 from previous year's P45.

I need to work out Gross to Net Pay and work out the Tax Code. From understanding is that the K682 means £6,820 must be added to the total taxable income to ensure the right amount of tax is collected.

Could someone please show me in detailed how I can work this out, do I add the £6,820.00 to £5,400.00 and then with the total amount work out the Tax from that. I am so at a loss and reply would be much appreciated.

many thanks in advance.

aimee:confused:
!

Comments

• fengirl_2
    fengirl_2 Posts: 4,530 Forumite
    Options
    You are correct in stating that £6820 has to be added to the employee's pay in order to get the correct tax, but it is £6820 over the whole year, not in one month.

You look up the tax free pay in table A for code 682 and instead of deducting the amount shown from the monthly pay, you add it on. Then you use table B-D to work out the tax.

The tax tables allow 1/12th of the tax free pay each month - or the extra amount to be taxed in the case of K codes. Therefore, if you are doing May payroll, the amount to add would be 6820/12 x 2 = £1136. This is added to the £5400 pay to make taxable pay in May of £6536.

Your local tax office may run workshops for new employers.
    £705,000 raised by client groups in the past 18 mths :beer:
  • aimee0763
    aimee0763 Posts: 176 Forumite
    Options
    fengirl wrote: »
    You are correct in stating that £6820 has to be added to the employee's pay in order to get the correct tax, but it is £6820 over the whole year, not in one month.