Need Wise Advice - Uni or BT Apprenticeship

Options
I am looking for some wise advice on this matter, maybe some people have been in the same situation as me.

At the moment I am studying Business Management at University, I mostly enjoy the course and am doing ok on it. I do have the chance however to go and start an apprenticeship at BT working as an openreach engineer (both in field and office). I like both, but am really stuck as to what do.

Im 19 years old and live at home with my parents, I only have board to pay each month. The BT Apprenticeship would offer me a good starting salary, and an excellent finishing salary, as well as all the extras (phones, vans, tools, paid hotels etc).

I dont know whether to leave uni, it is ok but its not what I thought it would be, but I do enjoy some of the lectures, even though I do miss some now. My girlfriend says I should do what I want, but when I mention BT she says well its up to isnt it, I feel as though she doesnt like it. At the moment Im finding it a bit harder at uni as its near enough impossible to get a part-time job where I live, and there are probably thousands of people in the area looking as well.

What do people think?

Comments

• Rolandtheroadie
    Options
    If it was me, I'd find out what level BT will train me to.

As it would be an apprenticeship, I'd imagine there will be further education involved (whether day release or block release). Find out what level of further education they would train you to and ask if they would be willing to let you go further if you wanted to (a lot of companies will pay for the course and allow time off to attend. As a reputable company, I'd like to think BT would do this).

As your GF says, you'll need to do whatever will make you happiest. Dont do what you think will keep other people happy.

Ask yourself if you think you can complete your uni course (you've said it's getting harder) and is that the line of work you'd be happy doing in the future.