Which course: Book-keeping and Accounts

Options
2»

Comments

• jessicamb
    jessicamb Posts: 10,446 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I'm a qualified accountant - AAT would have been fine as a starting option as they start at the basics. After AAT to be a chartered accountant/management accountant you would have to take further exams through ACCA or CIMA.
    The early bird gets the worm but the second mouse gets the cheese :cool:
  • bigheadxx
    bigheadxx Posts: 3,047 Forumite
    Options
    jessicamb wrote: »
    I'm a qualified accountant - AAT would have been fine as a starting option as they start at the basics. After AAT to be a chartered accountant/management accountant you would have to take further exams through ACCA or CIMA.

How does the profession rate the ICB qualifications?
  • jessicamb
    jessicamb Posts: 10,446 Forumite
    Options
    bigheadxx wrote: »

I have to say I've never come across it before and I dont think it is viewed as a standard course in the management accounts field. It may be different in the firms of accountants that help small businesses (I dont have any experience here though). That said if you want to do a starter course before going into something more mainstream (and longer term) like AAT then it wont do any harm. You will probably repeat a lot of what you have learnt on your ICB course though as I believe AAT starts right at the beginning and covers booking keeping/accounts preparation in quite some detail.
    The early bird gets the worm but the second mouse gets the cheese :cool:
  • donglemouse
    donglemouse Posts: 2,652 Forumite
    Options
    bigheadxx wrote: »

just my view but as a chartered accountant i would come across ICB a lot less often AAT, not to say there's anything wrong with ICB necessarily
  • funandfrugal
    Options