🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

how much does it cost to run central haeting at 18 degrees for 6 hours a day?

Options
Sorry,
I do apologise if i have not posted this correctly- I am new to this.
If i have osted incorrectly, please advise so i do not hack people off in future.
I am a single mum, in a badly insulated home(due to part finished extension, when my now (thank god) ex husband walked out on my son and I when he was 5 months old.
I have a worcester bosch 35 cdi condensing boiler installed.
Given my circumstances(very tight on money) I am petrified of a large bill, so could anybody advise/point me in the direction how much it would cost to have the heating on in this cold snap for 6 hours per day at 18 degrees/ how much per hour at this temp???
PLEASE HELP< I AM DESPERATE!!:eek:

Comments

• KimYeovil
    KimYeovil Posts: 6,156 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Only way to tell is to read your meter. See how much is used the first hour, see how much is used the hour afterwards. Work out how much that costs.

For your tariff, work out how much one meter unit (or one tenth of a unit) costs and keep an eye on the meter.

There are too many variables (with very large ranges) to provide any meaningful guesses.
  • bridgie28
    Options
    thanks, sorry if it sounds petty, but I have been left with nothing but benefits to claim from the lovely ex, am scared of costs, but need to try and keep my boy warm during this bad weather, he already has conjuntivitis and a cough/cold, the latter two has been coming and going for last two months.
  • Magentasue
    Magentasue Posts: 4,229 Forumite
    Options