Moving in with mum on Pension Credits

Options
My mum is on Pension Credit Guarantee Credit & rents a house from the council, for which she claims full HB & CTB.

I have just split up with my partner & will have to move back in with my mum until I get back on my feet. I only work part time as I am studying too so my annual income is about £8000.

Would my moving back in with my mum effect her pension credits?

Approx how much rent & council tax would I be likely to have to pay on her house?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Comments

• exil
    exil Posts: 1,194 Forumite
    Options
    According to this

http://www.dwp.gov.uk/housingbenefit/claims-processing/operational-manuals/hbgm/annex/a5annxa.pdf.

Gross earnings of £160 would mean your mum's HB would be reduced by £17 a week and CTB by £2.30

So that's the contribution you'd be expected to make.
  • CHARDONNAY_3
    Options
    Thank you so much for the link.

However I am a bit confused by the note at the bottom of the link. Does the word "claimant" refer to me or my mum in this context?

My apologies if I'm being a bit dumb.
  • alwaysonthego_2
    Options
    The claimant would refer to your mum.
  • bigbill
    bigbill Posts: 928 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    No reduction for first 6 months though.
  • redz
    redz Posts: 212 Forumite
    Options
    CHARDONNAY wrote: »
    My mum is on Pension Credit Guarantee Credit & rents a house from the council, for which she claims full HB & CTB.

I have just split up with my partner & will have to move back in with my mum until I get back on my feet. I only work part time as I am studying too so my annual income is about £8000.

1) Would my moving back in with my mum effect her pension credits?

2) Approx how much rent & council tax would I be likely to have to pay on her house?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

1) No. Unless she is in receipt of the severe disability premium. If she is she will lose the premium.