Can I countersign a passport application?

Options
I've been asked to countersign a passport for a friend. I am currently a trainee solicitor. The application itself states that

"The person acting as your countersignatory must: be a professional person (including those who are retired) or a person of standing in the community. For example bank or building-society officials, police officers, civil servants, ministers of religion and people with professional qualifications - teachers, accountants, engineers, solicitors and so on; ..."

I have a law degree but am still in training and do not fully qualify as a solicitor until June. I called the passport helpline and the person I spoke to said that as long as I have a law degree, I can countersign. But she didn't sound totally confident!! Does anyone know definitively whether I can sign this just by having a law degree?

Thanks

Comments

• withabix
    withabix Posts: 9,508 Forumite
    Options
    You should be OK.

I've got a Civil Engineering degree and have countersigned many passport applications - nobody has had their passport application rejected!
    British Ex-pat in British Columbia!
  • Shelldean
    Shelldean Posts: 2,391 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Best mate signed mine, OH and our four kids, she a TA in a school. So yo should be fine signing it.
  • Janeyjaz
    Janeyjaz Posts: 544 Forumite
    Options
    put your profession down and your company address and you law degree qualification
    Titch :)
  • Andy_L
    Andy_L Posts: 12,791 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    bairn7 wrote: »
    people with professional qualifications - teachers, accountants, engineers, solicitors and so on; ..."

My feeling has always been that you need to be registered with the appropriate professional association (ie in your case the Law Society, for an engineer the Engineering Council etc)
  • SAMHP_2
    SAMHP_2 Posts: 241 Forumite
    Options