Incapacity Benefit entitlements??

Options
Hi there everyone - I am now the the forum and wonder whether you guys can help me.

I have been receiving IB since November 2007.

My husband is in full time employment, can I get any help with paying my dental bills at a NHS dentist? And do I have to pay for prescriptions at the chemist?

I don't have any card or anything to show I am entitled to help....

Comments

• dmg24
    dmg24 Posts: 33,925 Forumite
    Options
    Hi KBlues,

Welcome to MSE!

IB does not entitle you to help with health costs.

Is your husband on a low income? You may be able to get help through Working Tax Credits or the HC1 scheme, but it would depend on how much he earns.
    Gone ... or have I?
  • zzzLazyDaisy
    zzzLazyDaisy Posts: 12,497 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    If you find that you are not entitled to free prescription on income grounds, it is worth working out how much you pay for prescriptions over the year, as it may be worth you getting a 'season ticket' (sorry I can't remember the correct terminology)
    I'm a retired employment solicitor. Hopefully some of my comments might be useful, but they are only my opinion and not intended as legal advice.
  • feelinggood_2
    feelinggood_2 Posts: 11,115 Forumite
    Options
    If you find that you are not entitled to free prescription on income grounds, it is worth working out how much you pay for prescriptions over the year, as it may be worth you getting a 'season ticket' (sorry I can't remember the correct terminology)

Good advice:

"If you have to pay for more than 3 prescription items in 3 months, or 14 items in 12 months, you could save money with a Prescription Prepayment certificate (PPC).
    From 1 April 2008, the charge for a single prescription item is £7.10, whereas a 3-month PPC will cost you £27.85 and a 12-month PPC £102.50"

http://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/1127.aspx
    Stay-at-home, attached Mummy to a 23lb 10oz, 11 month old baby boy.