We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Section 75

Options
I am a Sole Trader and I used my personal credit card to purchase items for
for business purposes. The supplier went bust and I did not receive the goods. I then found out that the supplier had ceased to trade.I contacted my Credit Card Co who stated that as it was for business purposes I could not claim for the loss under Section 75.

Is this correct please !!!!!!

washy

Comments

• windswept
    windswept Posts: 1,412 Forumite
    Options
    I believe so - but at least you can use your losses to offset your tax bill.
    Have you only just started your business - is that why the payments for goods were up front?
    "There is a light that never goes out"
  • udydudy
    udydudy Posts: 559 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Did not want to start a new thread so am adding this here since this thread also talks about section 75.

Is section 75 still valid if you have closed yoru card account??. I had a barclays card on which i bought a 3 year warranty and a cacorder from empire direct. but empire direct has gone bust and i need to use the warranty as the camcorder isnt working. So can i claim under section 75? as i cancelled the card a year ago.
    :beer::beer::beer:
  • dazza.mk
    dazza.mk Posts: 1,927 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    OP

I disagree, see notes from 2006 amendment:

http://www.opsi.gov.uk/ACTS/acts2006/en/ukpgaen_20060014_en.pdf

Section 1: Definition of "individual"
    15. [FONT=TimesNewRoman,Italic]Section 1 [/FONT]amends section 189(1) of the 1974 Act to provide a new definition
    of "individual". This restricts the partnerships that are to be regarded as "individuals"