🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

£35 Fee / Crippling Monthly Interest

Options
Hi. I have a current account with Halifax. It was originally a student current account from when I was at university, and as a result of that I have a £1,600 overdraft facility. That was used to the hilt when I was a student, and consequently it hasn't been reduced/repaid since. The overdraft was interest free until 12 months after I finished university, but now I'm charged £20 - £25 interest each month (for example this month, I will be charged £22.65). Although I've worked since, it's been mostly part time, so I've not been earning sufficient income to reduce the overdraft. And currently, my only income is JSA. As you can imagine, the interest on the overdraft from a monthly income of £242 is a bit of a bind to say the least.