Never paid my student loan

Options
Hi,
I wonder if anyone can help me please.

I went to uni for 2 years (an HND) in November 1998 until July 2000. I graduated and since then I have heard nothing from the SLC.

After graduating I met a deeply annoying (now ex) partner who led me many a pretty lie and eventually to cut a long story short I ended up homeless and banktrupt. Not good at all. I am fine now, really good in fact, however, I would love to do a Degree as my HND doesn't really help me at work anymore. With all the other money worries and emotional stress I ignored the student loan problem. My question is now what should I do. Having read Martin's article it looks like pre-1998 the loans were mortgage style and could be forever deferred and after 1998 people needed to pay something according to their salaries - so I am not sure where that leaves me. I am happy to pay, sorry I did not before, as I would love to do something in higher education again. It would only be part-time anyway, and I would pay the fees myself, so I wouldn't need to borrow more money, but just in case I applied and the uni/college rejects me cause I haven't paid I wanted to.

Really want to get my life back on track, but for the first time in my life I am trying to save money, so my lovely new partner and I can buy a house together, and I don't want them to take all my money and not have enough left to save.

Any advice would be gratefully received? Anyone else been in a similiar situation?

Many thanks
Saving £12k in 2015
January : £200

:A:A

Comments

• babs2008
    Options
    Like you I also chose to do a HND. After which I worked for a few years.