UKcardholder resident abroad

Options
Hello. I'm wondering if there is anyone else in the same position as me here. I moved abroad (to Sweden) 9 years ago with an existing Beneficial Bank VISA card. Beneficial definitely don't like the fact that I now reside outside the UK and would be delighted if I relinquished my card, which of course, I've no intention of doing. I am excluded from taking advantage of all the useful ideas here, like being a rate tart, as no other company will touch me as soon as they find out I live in Sweden. I once asked Beneficial if they would switch my card overdraft to a loan - carrying a much cheaper rate, in an attempt to clear it - but they said they couldn't as I'm not a UK resident. Hmmm. Now I've got it clear I'm wondering if there is anything better I might be eligible for in my circumstances.
I have tried using a UK address when applying for a different card but they wanted assurance that that is my main address and that I am a UK resident. Once you're out of the UK no banks seem to want to know. Has any other UK expat had a similar experience, any helpful suggestions, etc.,? Thanks. :o

Comments

• grumbler
    grumbler Posts: 58,629 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    mummy wrote:
    ...Beneficial definitely don't like the fact that I now reside outside the UK and would be delighted if I relinquished my card, which of course, I've no intention of doing....
    You are lucky that they don't insist in this. Most of cards have something like the following in their T&C:
    (a) At any time during this agreement either you or we can close your account by telling the other. We will give you reasonable notice before we do so.

(b) If your account is closed you must return all the cards we have issued on your account, cut in two, and repay everything you owe us under this agreement.
  • mummy_2-3_2
    Options
    grumbler wrote: