Fiat Stilo spring replacement ?

Options
Dick_here
Dick_here Posts: 1,605 Forumite
First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
Recently I've had a bit of a clang when going over speed humps, yesterday there was a loud bang when going over a pothole. Today, the sound of metal hitting road as something fell off. It looks like a bit of a front spring has sheared off, judging by the shape of what I picked up off the road - a semi-circular type lump. I'm no car expert, so :

1) Is that what it is, if not what else could it be ?

2) Is it still safe to drive or not ?

3) Any idea of replacement costs, is it a simple job for any garage ?

Thanks guys !
Hi, we’ve had to remove your signature. If you’re not sure why please read the forum rules or email the forum team if you’re still unsure - MSE ForumTeam

Comments

• edde
    edde Posts: 159 Forumite
    Options
    It will be the spring they do fail

I'd personaly try not drive if so drive carefully but loads of people drive round with broken ones unknowwing,

Easy enough to change though. A copy cat part is only cheap though and fitment is quick enough say 1 hour labour max for one side,
  • Dick_here
    Options
    Thanks, fingers crossed you're right ! I won't bother going to the Fiat main dealer then, that's a relief :)
    Hi, we’ve had to remove your signature. If you’re not sure why please read the forum rules or email the forum team if you’re still unsure - MSE ForumTeam
  • Keith
    Keith Posts: 2,924 Forumite
    Options
    I wouldn't drive it, have it recovered to a local garage.
  • Dick_here
    Options
    Keith wrote: »
    I wouldn't drive it, have it recovered to a local garage.

Care to explain why, is it actually dangerous ?
  • Keith
    Options