Turned down for life and early critical illness insurance!

Options
Hi, I'm new to all this!
I am considering trying to buy my council flat and have a mortgage approved. I applied for life assurance and early critical illness insurance through an IFA via AXA, and have been completely turned down for everything on health grounds.

My question, is it worth applying to another company, or does being turned down by AXA mean I won't get cover anywhere else either?

I have long term health issues, greatly improved, but still affecting me. I manage to work full time and thought I would at least get some life cover. I am married but it would only be my name on the mortgage as my husband is not an EU citizen. I'm concerned if I die, he'll not get the flat.

Thanks a lot.

Precious.
What's So Amazing About Really Deep Thoughts ...

Comments

• BenL
    BenL Posts: 3,189 Forumite
    Options
    Have you tried the bank/BS for life cover that yo uare getting the mortgage with??

My girlfriend was turned down to Norwich Union for life cover on our policy but Nationwide (our mortgage company) would cover her.

Maybe worth a try.

Ben
    I beep for Robins - Beep Beep
    & Choo Choo for trains!!
  • dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,539 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    You have used an IFA. Get them to place the business.

A decent IFA/whole of market protection advisor can phone round the insurance companies first and see if they will accept the business and if so, what terms/premium they would place on it.

I wouldnt agree with BenL at this stage as the cost of a bank product would be much higher than open market and a positive underwriting decision is more likely from the open market/IFA because of the choice available.