Feel scared and stupid and upset.

Options
I have been in my new job 4 weeks. I did lots of mistakes today, missing my name off things, not checking things properly and myboss and colleague went through things with me and they reassured me while trying to get me to realise what I had done wrong. My boss said I needed to show more confidence, and that its a lot to take in. Normally I am a confident person but I felt close to tears and panicky. Maybe its because I have been out of work for 6 months or its that I have worked in my last job for 22 years with same people.
So scared of messing it up, I am trying really hard to learn about working in personnel.:cry:
Mortgage Free 2016Work Part Time:DHouse Hunting In France 2023

Comments

• cazziebo
    cazziebo Posts: 3,209 Forumite
    Options
    I've been working in HR/Personnel for nearly 30 years, and sometimes I feel exactly the same - scared stupid and upset!

I don't mean to decry what you feel right now, but it does sound as if your boss wants you to succeed. Accept the support, you can only do your best, and get on with it.

You might not have confidence, but the company had confidence in you to offer the position in the first place, Nowadays HR jobs are fiercely fought for, so I'm guessing you won this in the face of stiff opposition. Have some belief in your own abilities, and just understand you don't have to know it all now - it takes time!

Good luck!

x
  • Butterfliesarepretty
    Options
    cazziebo wrote: »
    I've been working in HR/Personnel for nearly 30 years, and sometimes I feel exactly the same - scared stupid and upset!

I don't mean to decry what you feel right now, but it does sound as if your boss wants you to succeed. Accept the support, you can only do your best, and get on with it.