PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Cooking A Gammon Joint in the Slow Cooker

Options

Comments

• MRSMCAWBER
    MRSMCAWBER Posts: 5,442 Forumite
    Options
    Hi there

It will be fine... you can boil them with it on -so it won't have any effect
    -6 -8 -3 -1.5 -2.5 -3 -1.5-3.5
  • boredjellybean
    Options
    thank you - hey ho at least it'll be one of those things i only do once (well lets hope so lol) it's my first attempt at doing a gammon:D
    I presume the stock will be ok to use for soup etc still ?
  • Larumbelle
    Larumbelle Posts: 2,140 Forumite
    Options
    It'll just keep the gammon in a nice round shape - I've done it more than once!

Your stock will be fine. At least - I'm still here!
  • Lyndach
    Lyndach Posts: 446 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    I always leave mine on till I go to serve it, do idea why but it's not hurt anyone yet lol and yeah the stock will still be ok to use.
    GC July: £0/£120
  • boredjellybean
    Options
    thanks again :) i hadn't even noticed it was on there :rotfl:

does anyone know how long it should cook for? (i did ask in the gammon/slow cooker thread but haven't had a reply yet
  • LE3
    LE3 Posts: 612 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    assuming you mean the thin band that wraps round the meat, rather than the complete vacuum packaging then it will be 100% fine. You are actually MEANT to leave the band on as it keeps the meat together & makes sure it doesn't break up during cooking.
    Honestly, believe the people here, it will be FINE!!!
  • Butterfly_Brain
    Butterfly_Brain Posts: 8,862 Forumite