FlyBe Hold Luggage Charges

Options
I got an email from FlyBe this morning stating that all bookings made with them from noon today (16/12/05) for flights from 1st Feb 06 will be subjct to a charge for checking-in hold luggage. For every bag you check in, they'll charge £2 (if you pay online before you leave your house) or £4 (if you pay at the airport). OK, they've increased the hand luggage allowance to 10kg and the hold luggage allowance to 25kg (momre than the other no-frills airlines), but what is everyone's opinion of this scheme? Personally I think it's no-frills gone too far. As I am a student I use no-frills airlines very regularly to travel from Newcastle-upon-Tyne to Belfast (FlyBe included). If I am going home for a Christmas/Easter holiday, I can't be expected to carry all my worldly goods in hand luggage! In my opinion, this will be the start of charging for something that has previously been included in the price (FlyBe aren't cheap compared to the other airlines, so I'm surprised they're the first off the mark).

Comments

• LesD
    LesD Posts: 2,111 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Perhaps it's their way of introducing a subtle 'fuel surcharge'. I have been surprised that low-cost carriers haven't done something like that before.

We'll have to see if others follow suit. It'll make comparing fares more difficult but, like ebay postage charges, most people will just factor it in to the cost comparison.
  • pin
    pin Posts: 4,265 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Well they are being upfront with the charges and not hiding it anywhere. The more load there is on an aircraft, the more fuel has to be consumed, therefore charging for checked bags is a way of compensating for this.