Engagement Ring Advice

Options
Hi all,

I am looking for engagement ring for my OH and just after some advice.

I know what style I'm after (sapphire in white gold setting with small diamond either side of the sapphire) and have seen a couple of options in high street jewellers - one is circa £800, the other is circa £650.

As a jewellery novice I have two questions really:

1) Are there any technical details that I need to find out to ensure I am comparing like with like when I decide what I'm going to buy, and what should I be looking out for?

2) Any ideas on the most economical way to source the type of ring I have described?

Objective here is not to minimise cost at the expense of quality, but to make sure I get the most for my money!! Top budget is probably around £800ish so any ideas are welcome!

Comments

• Stephb1986_2
    Stephb1986_2 Posts: 6,279 Forumite
    Options
    There are nice ones on the Jewlery channel all the time i love watching it at the weekend.

here is the website http://www.thejewellerychannel.tv/

I dont really have any advice sorry :)

HTH

Steph xx
  • *starla*
    *starla* Posts: 81 Forumite
    Options
    I would suggest trying a local jeweller. My wedding ring is being made to fit with my engagement ring, a small local jeweller are doing it for £90 compared to a quote of £300 from H Samuuel, and the service is much better, they really know what they're talking about.

Where in the country are you? Someone on here might be able to recommend somewhere in your area.
  • Alleycat
    Alleycat Posts: 4,599 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Sounds identical to mine except we paid £30 8 years ago in a pawn shop. The setting is white gold, but the ring is 18 carat yellow gold. I recently had it resized and cleaned and the lady in the shop was gobsmacked when I told her how much it cost.

Try having a look at second hand jewellrey, you might just be able to grab a bargain like we did!