Does Shop Bought DIY Hair Dye Damage your hair more than Hairdresser ones?

Hi all

I have been wondering about this for ages and as MSErs are SO helpful & knowledgeable I thought maybe someone could give me an answer? :D

Basically I have been dying my hair to cover my grey roots for a couple of years and always feel a bit guilty that I'm damaging my hair-although it does seem ok? I used to get highlights which cost £50-70 in the hairdressers that I be-grudgingly paid for as I couldn't do it like that myself!! :eek: But feel that I could never fork out £50 for an all over colour when I can do one for £7? :o

Are there any "insiders" that work in the hairdressing industry that know about these things? Are the "ingredients" the same? Do shop bought ones do anymore damage to your hair? And is it ok to just keep dying it all over with another colour every 3 months?

Also what brands do people find are the best DIY ones for applying and to give a nice glossy shiny finish that lasts?

Big Thanks in Advance! :T

Comments

• Bargain_Rzl
    Bargain_Rzl Posts: 6,254 Forumite
    Err... and can I add to that question by asking what SEMI-PERMANENT home colourants are particularly good, particularly for covering grey (I'm about 20% grey, but it's at the front where it shows!)
    :)Operation Get in Shape :)
    MURPHY'S NO MORE PIES CLUB MEMBER #124
  • all hair dyes are damaging to hair
    Time is the best teacher
    Shame it kills all the students
    :p
    *******************************************************************************************
  • suep
    suep Posts: 782 Forumite
    My daughters in her 2nd year training to be a hairdresser, shes upstairs doing her friends hair tonight, I just shouted up to her your question and she said yes, shop dye is more damaging than salon dye which is much better quality. Sorry, didnt get any more info out of her as shes busy chatting !
    sue
    Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time.