Slapped with a 3k bill by HMRC

Options
I am a hospital doctor and pay tax via PAYE (it gets deducted from my payslip). I have got a letter today saying I have underpaid 3k tax, because it was not deducted correctly from my employment income and that because i am a higher rate tax payer.

My question what do I do from here as I know nothing about tax

How does the money get paid to HMRC , do I write a cheque to them as that is not listed on the letter. They have sent in a "understanding your tax calculation booklet" which says that between 1-2000£ underpayments, the tax gets deducted from the coming year's tax returns. However greater than 2k the HMRC will contact you.

Help please! I am a newbie to this.
Inside I am THINKING.

Comments

• London05
    London05 Posts: 130 Forumite
    Options
    How did that happen do you have another job?Interest from massive savings (assume not if you are a Doctor or have a savings account with IceSave - sorry I am still annoyed with myself for investing in them) Just because they say it is so remember they make mistakes too so you need to check the information they have which makes them think you owe them money.

Normally if you just have one job and you are paid by PAYE you would not expect to fill in a tax form.

As you are on PAYE they will collect the money back by changing your tax code thereby reducing your free pay (currently 6005 2008/9), never offer to pay them cheques.

Make sure you get a full statement from them explaining how the underpayment occurred, if you get on well with anyone in your wages department they might be able to explain things to you or failing that Citizens Advice will have someone who can explain in plain English.
  • rammster
    rammster Posts: 289 Forumite
    Options