Advice on what to do with £80000

Options
Hi, new to all this and don't know where to start! I have £80k in a Barclays saving account at the moment. I know that i need to split this to ensure it is not at risk, however not sure where to go. It has been in the account since January but i need to sort it now. I have not invested as not sure how long to tie it up for or if i may need it. Also do not know where to turn for advice. I have been to Barclays advisor who has advised to split it into 3 different funds. As a complete novice i do not know if i would be doing the right thing! Any help or suggestions on what to do with it or reputable company to go to for advice is appreciated!

Comments

• Reaper
    Reaper Posts: 7,283 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Photogenic
    Options
    3 different funds? I hope he means savings accounts, not investment funds. Now is not the time for novice lump sum investments in the stock market!

You do have to make a decision yourself about how much access you need to the money. For example you might feel happy locking half of it away for a year or 2 years as long as you have instant access to the rest.

Having decided that you can set about choosing where to put it. You only need to split it into 2 accounts to get below the limits (unless you count a bank current account as the third). Maybe he was suggesting a cash ISA as the 3rd account? If so that's a good idea if you are a tax payer.

Look at the articles on this site such as this one to decide where to put it and this one to make sure sure the two organisations you place your money with don't count as one under the compensation scheme.
  • RuthLong_2
    Options
    Make sure you've used your cash ISA allowance for this year and split the rest between at least two accounts as above
  • Reaper
    Reaper Posts: 7,283 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Photogenic
    Options