New Post Advanced Search

Coronavirus: Stay up to date with the latest from MSE

The MSE team is working extremely hard to keep the info we have about your travel rights, cancellation rights, sick pay (and more) up to date.
Stay updated with our guides: Coronavirus Help & Your Rights * Coronavirus Travel Rights
NEWSFLASH 27/03
MARTINS VIDEO FOR SELF-EMPLOYED * DELAY HOUSE MOVES * EUROSTAR UPDATE

Lightbulb moment

edited 30 November -1 at 12:00AM in Debt-Free Wannabe
25 replies 11.7K views
crisis_managementcrisis_management Forumite
15 posts
edited 30 November -1 at 12:00AM in Debt-Free Wannabe
Guys

I'm new to this and to be honest I'm embarrassed to start posting. I've spent the last 10 yrs getting deeper and deeper in debt, and I reckon I owe about £140,000 at present. I can still meet the minimum payments, but after reading your posts I've now realised I have to deal with the situation, and right now. I've listed my debts, and prepared a budget which I've managed to stick to for a month (about a third of my usual spending). It'll take me years to get out of this, but I want to thank you for helping me get started.
Hopefully by posting here it'll help my resolve (my face is burning as I type!).

Thanks again

Crisis

Replies

• Go for it mate

Good Luck
    :T
    K eep
    I t
    S imple
    S tupid!!
  • You've taken the first mega-step in "coming out", Crisis. I take my hat off to you. Well done - I'm sure you will find much inspiration here over the months and years to come.
  • elonaelona Forumite
    11.8K posts
    There is nothing to be embarassed about - you have realised there is a problem and you have made a plan to solve it and have started to do so.

You should be really pleased at how well you have done in a short time.

Have you read the money diet and the advice to pay off the highest interest debts first if you can?
    "This site is addictive!"
    Wooligan 2 squares for smoky - 3 squares for HTA
    Preemie hats - 2.
  • Guys