How do I help my grandparents?

Options
I currently live with my grandparents and see myself staying for the forseeable(sp?) future. My Grandfather just turned 80 this week and only retired 2 months ago (he was a back cab driver). Since he retired I have been giving them £50 a week to help cover food and bills. Thing is they are thinking of the Equity release thingy.
Obviously I dont want them to do this at all. I want to buy the house off them but doubt I will ever get the mortgage as i'm only an apprentice not earning much. I tend to get silly plans in my head like this...get a mortgage to buy the house, they live rent free, I convert the loft so i can have that as like my own space, they will have money and I will have a foot on the property ladder.
Would this be viable? or would inhertance tax catch up eventually. and in this current "credit crunch" would I ever get a mortgage? :confused:

Comments

• chesky369
    chesky369 Posts: 2,590 Forumite
    Options
    There are several different issues here
  • chesky369
    Options
    Don't know how that happened.

The issues :
    How much do they expect to raise if they did the equity release and what would it mean in terms of weekly/monthly income?
    Are they eligible for benefits to assist them at present if they're having a bad time financially?
    Do they realise you are interested in the possibility of having the house?
  • Savvy_Sue
    Savvy_Sue Posts: 46,030 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    If they are thinking of the Equity Release scheme because they are struggling, then the first thing might be for you to pay a realistic amount towards food and bills ...