single mum/fulltime student

Options
im a fulltime student,hnc healthcare. im seperating from my husband. i have 3 dependants,the youngest 12. i have been told that on the 27th oct,ny income support will cease,and i will have to claim jsa.im fulltime student,1st year nurse training. i am not available for work. i was told by the job centre plus that there is no option available to me, but to give up my nurse training,claim jsa and get back to work. i have just given up an 8year post with NHS, to train as a nurse and made this decision with all the information available to me. 6 weeks later im told i cant get any help and my only other alternative is to give up my training and claim jsa and get back to work!! any body heard whats happening with income support and housing benefit?????

Comments

• Oldernotwiser
    Options
    Surely you're not getting IS anyway, with the NHS bursary/loan?
  • dmg24
    dmg24 Posts: 33,925 Forumite
    Options
    I was under the impression that there are transitional arrangements in place for current students, but I am not sure of what they are. Also, if you have only started studying this month, I doubt that they will apply.
    Gone ... or have I?
  • bestpud
    bestpud Posts: 11,048 Forumite
    Options
    You will get the full financial support available for your course and will still receive chb, and possibly maintenance from your ex, which won't be taken off you as it would while on IS.

Plus, you'd be a priority if you needed to apply for the hardship fund.

And, you could do bank work during the breaks to cover where the IS etc would have picked up?

I'd think you should be able to manage as your children are old enough to help out around the house etc while you work. It may not be a breeze but better than giving up surely?
  • lainey-lou
    Options