How to mortgage the un-mortgable-able

Options
Hi all,

I am looking at a massionate with 2 kitchens in requirement of cosmetic touching up, which makes it fail lending criteria for every lender at the moment.

My question is kind of two fold:

* Is it possible to get a refurb mortgage on this instead of a traditional residential or buy to let? . So idea is, borrow a little, remove one kitchen + cosmetic touching up. then borrow remaining
(Obviously I have never done a refurb before :rolleyes2 )

*Is this scenario possible:
  • I have a valuation done.
  • Valuation fails, reason: 2 kitchens and crap condition inside.
  • In addition to the above, can valuer put on his/her report that they will lend IF the above was changed? (so in affect, have in writing what could be changed to have the property pass the lender's lending criteria)
Many thanks in advance for your guidance/opinions/experiences

Comments

• arkie
    arkie Posts: 153 Forumite
    Options
    What is stopping you at the moment is the 2nd kitchen, lenders do not like it, get rid of the 2nd kitchen then start again.
    No such thing as a refurb mortgage
    I am a Whole of Market Mortgage Adviser
    You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it.
    This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser code of conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice.
  • minimike2
    minimike2 Posts: 2,210 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    CHL used to lend on these, but to be honest I dont know if they are still lending or not as I havent needed to use them this year.
  • sdooley
    sdooley Posts: 918 Forumite
    Options
    When you say 'borrow a little' are you talking sub-£30K? If so, your best bet would be to get a personal loan over 5-8 years.