My first bank account, my first debit card... My first experience with a hard seller?

Options
Hey guys..

I thought I had better set up my first bank account a few weeks ago, and my Dad recommended me the Premier 21 account. I think he was just after the £25, because I haven't enjoyed my experience with them so far.

I set it up online, and recieved the letters rather quickly. I got them signed, attached a copy of my birth certificate, sent it off, became verified, opened an account (They also opened a PlusSaver account for me, no idea what that's supposed to be though) and got the details I needed to log in.

Today I got my debit card, but I have to ring a premium rate number on the front to activate it.

I'm going to sound very pathetic now, but I am not very good at speaking to people and I never, ever use the phone. I don't even have a mobile. I looked online for any other alternative but there isn't any, and I came across some horror stories about hard sellers and abusive staff on the other end of the line.

I don't have any money in my account yet, but I feel as if I should activate this anyway just incase I ever need it. Could my parents ring up if I gave them my details?

I'm 16, and have trouble speaking to people. It's a recent thing, and it's upsetting to know that it's affected my life this much.

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• JPizzle
    JPizzle Posts: 143 Forumite
    Options
    Your parents could, they only ask for some of the numbers off the card and your name and address.

They try and sell identity protection, and I said I'm not interested, and that was that.
  • jonesMUFCforever
    Options
    They won't sell you anything because if you are only 16 you are a minor and not entitled to enter into any non - necessary contracts.
    The telephone might even be an automated one where you need to confirm some details such as date of birth and then card number.
  • JPizzle
    JPizzle Posts: 143 Forumite
    Options