🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

The great 'what I wish I'd known before I was a student' hunt

Options

Comments

• Captain_Starlight
    Options
    Wow! Wish I'd been as savvy when I was a student! A few things I learnt:
    1 There's so much 'designer food' on telly, magazines and so on that the pressure to cook interesting food, all the time, is enormous. Remember that a number of celebrity chefs have tie-ins with supermarkets, so no pressure there, then, to flog expensive ingredients?! The occasional meal of beans on toast won't kill you, and will do your wallet no end of good.

2 Make friends with supermarket/shop staff and be sure to keep telling them you're a penniless student; they're more likely to steer you in the way of cheap deals.

3 Unis charge for use of photocopiers/scanners. Simplest option here is to buy an all-in-one printer/scanner/copier, and use that instead. Also saves time.

4 When you're buying a printer (or whatever), make sure that it'll take compatible cartridges before you buy it. Epson have, allegedly, started to sell printers which will only accept genuine Epson cartridges, which cost a fortune. You're better off paying a bit more for the printer, then buying compatible cartridges.

5 If you buy a lot of stuff off the web, but feel nervous using debit/credit cards online, you can buy top-uppable cards from Shell petrol stations (and probably other outlets). These work just like debit/credit cards, but you have to top them up with cash. Stops the chance of anyone nicking your card/account details, and you can only spend what's on the card.