MMD: Should you take the kids out of school for a holiday?

Options

Comments

• liberty6201
    Options
    i am a teacher and if o could do it i would!! At 8 and 10 there is nothing that they will be doing that they would desperately miss. To the person that said teachers only plan a week in advance i think most teachers know roughly what they will be doing at least half a term in advance - maybe they need to change things a little but to not know at all what they are going to do - that's bad!! IMHO travel companies should not be allowed to get away with charging excessive amounts for school holidays and then people would not need to do it. Whilst i agree that time together as a family is more important than a foreign holiday i agree but i know that i would be an awful lot more relaxed on a sunny foreign holiday than camping in the rain!! This would obviously pass onto my kids - whether or not it should it would. I say go for it!! The older the kids get the less it is possible - esp at exam time but most kids i've taught learn just as much, if not more, by experience than by being in a classroom. let them handle the money - read the menus, you can still educate your kids without being in a classroom. And at only £50 per child you'd save an awful lot more than that by going in school time. You never know what cards life will deal you and i say make the most of every opportunity - educationally or otherwise
  • milliebear00001
    Options
    Jambala wrote: »
    Your personal targets are a reflection of how well the children have done, in the case of Pupil Progress targets of Performance Management. Therefore, surely if a teacher's targets have suffered, this shows either a lack of progress in the children, poorly-chosen targets, or a staff training issue.

Also, I find that children who take a fortnight off lose momentum. That is, it takes them another week and a bit to begin to maintain their typical level of progress.