Is it hard to go back onto benefits?

Options
Im currently working 16 hours a week im a single parent with a 7 year old. Ive been working for 2 years. Ive just sat down and done all my calculations and after taking childcare costs(i get 80%), petrol, dinner moneys, rent, council tax, into account and even though I get Maintaince from my ex im £90 a month better off working which is £22.50 a week. The problem is the stress of working just isnt worth it. I work 20 miles away (I live rural) Childcare is a nightmare somtimes I have to take my son to family and freinds when Holiday clubs close due to lack of numbers and dump him for a few days as its 2 hours away. When I leave him at school in the morning I have to leave him in the playground so I can get to work on time. I only just get to school in the evening, Hes always the last child out of school.
There isnt any local childcare so I have to take him 20 miles out of the way. The whole situation is stressfull for both of us. I have to rely on my car to get to work and not break down, pray my son dosent get ill, all for £22.50 a week. Im thinking of going on benefits and going to college so I can get some qualifications to better myself and get a better job. But Ive heard that if your child is over 6 you cant claim benefits without a good reason...Is this true?
By the way im not a slacker Ive always worked since leaving school, but being a single parent working on a minimum wage is driving me insane and I have to think of our quality of lives before being labeled a scrounger.
Do I have to have a very good reason for giving up my job, will I be penalised for doing so?
Thanks in advance if you do apply

Comments

• jacnorm
    jacnorm Posts: 410 Forumite
    Options