Legality of Council Threat

Options
Hi, Any advice, would be gratefully appreciated.

I recieved a letter from my local council and sheriffs officers in March 08, threating me with legal action, over unpaid Poll Tax from years 89/90, which I have disputed. I spoke to them at the time and they put a hold on it.
It's upto an individual to provide evidence, in support of any dispute. I believe I was a student at that time, and am in the process of speaking to the college I attended. (Granted, I could have dealt with it a little bit quicker, but...)
So I am dealing with this part of my problem.

I have now recieved another letter from my local council with reference to the above, but, this time, they are not only threatining me that the Poll Tax be paid in full in 7 days, but also the full amounts of my Community Charge(Council Tax) and my Business rates. I am seething!!!
I have been a home owner for 14 years, and I have NEVER been late or in arrears with my CT.
I have been a Business owner for 5 years, renting my premises from the council, and as above, never had a late payment, for rent or rates.

This is a point of principal. Legally, how can they threaten me with services I have yet to receive. The letters were also addressed to me and my partner, as the CT is a joint liability. The more recent letter's last paragraph stated, "this could seriously affect your credit rating".
So, there is 1 debt, and 2 (still to receive) services on this threatning letter. And only 1 of these has anything to do with my partner. He's not a happy chappy.