March Out Cleaning?

Options
We are handing our house over on Monday and to be money saving we decided not to get a professional cleaner! Have badgered a couple of people to help out and we have got the whole weekend so should be ok I hope!

I've never done it before though so need all your tips please!

My friend didn't clean far enough down behind the radiators apparently so I'll remember that, and someone DH knows didnt open the windows and clean the ridge bit so I'll remember that too!!!

Any more?

It's the oven thats scared me, I just had a look and it is way worse than I thought.. Think its a bit later to get a pro in now and I have no idea how much it would cost!

Comments

• Old_Trout_3
    Old_Trout_3 Posts: 17 Forumite
    Options
    Once we hired professional cleaners. Paid it off from the disturbance allowance. Easy! Last time we did it ourselves. Horrible job! Oven cleaning I gave to a professional and luckily I did. Apparantly they even checked inside the rubber seals! Was well worth the payment.I think it cost me about £60. This did not include the outside of the cooker but that's the easy bit. This was in the London area. Check Netmums.. I don't have kids but there are good tips there for everybody and also about oven cleaning etc. You might get lucky and get one at the last minute.
    It took us quite a long time to fill all the holes form the hooks on the walls and paint over them. Glad you've got help. There was only the two of us. If you ask me, a quick way to a divorceicon10.gif
  • fizzel81
    fizzel81 Posts: 1,623 Forumite
    Options
    im an ex forces wife (ok not quite ex yet but been seperated for over a year now)

we always did out own march outs (apart from cookers!) its not as bad as its imagined to be, i used to start few weeks before move so nearer the day it was just a wipe over, remember to clean inside window and door frames (ie when you open them they have that small gap) and to get dust down from tops or doors etc