HELP first time drivers car insurance !!!!

Options
hi im a first time driver (17years old) and im looking at buying my first car, the car i really want is a vauxhall corsa 1.2 16v sxi 2003 which i can afford but evrytime i try and get car insurance quotes im getting quoted £4000+ which is more then the car is worth and way to much is there any cheap car insurerers please help! thaxs

Comments

• Idiophreak
    Idiophreak Posts: 12,024 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    have you used confused.com and the other comparison sites?

Quinn direct are normally fairly good for young drivers, so might be worth a look.

Have you thought of being a named driver on your parents/friend's car for a year...with Direct Line this could count as a year's no claims for you...

Have you entered details of different cars to see the relative costs? I'd have thought the corsa in question would be reasonably nippy, actually and as an sxi it won't be the cheapest to insure...

You can well expect to pay a grand or two in your first year, though - you might have to look at a cheaper car if you're really desperate to get driving...
  • The_Dangerman
    Options
    A Corsa SXi is probably more to insure than a normal 1.2, so try seeing if that makes a difference, it might not be the car your want, but if it saves you a packet then it's probably worth it.

I've found CIS cheap for young drivers, especially if you (or more likely your parents) have home insurance with them. It may even be worth them switching if they are as cheap.

Try adding an expierenced female driver with a clean record as a named driver. Perfect legal and sometimes brings the price down.

Have a look at Pass Plus or any other advanced course that you can do.

If none of this works then you will have to look at sub- 1 litre cars. Once you have 1 years NCB, then your premimums could drop by anything upto 40-50% and may then be able to get something a bit sportier.
  • xcharlies_mummyx
    Options