When do CSA payments stop

Options

Comments

• tombhoy
    Options
    My son is 16 1/2 ands left school for an apprenticeship with Carillion Construction. He has passed his level 1 and is on placement of which he attends 4 days on site and 1 day a week back at Carillion.

He receives £96.20 per week but Carillion and CSA are telling me this is still classed as further education and I must continue paying for him until he completes his apprenticeship or leaves (also the ex receives Child tax credits as well).

My head is battered as I don't know what the Ex is telling the CSA and I'm hitting a brick wall with any help from them.

Can anyone shed any light on this?

Hi mate I am no expert but see if this helps. The CSA have decided that if child benefit is being paid then you should continue paying maintenance as this cuts back on the investigation of claims. So first of all you have to tackle HMRC. Have a read of this, as far as I can see if the training is part of a job contract and/or the education is being provided by an employer the child benefit should cease and therefore your maintenance.

Child stays in education or training
    You can carry on getting Child Benefit for your child up until their 20th birthday, if they're in education or training that counts for Child Benefit. Education or training counts for Child Benefit as long as it's either of the following:
    full-time, 'non-advanced' education (for example 'A' levels)
    'approved' training
    Your child needs to have started, enrolled or been accepted for one of these types of courses before the age of 19.
    You can't get Child Benefit if your child is doing:
    higher education, such as a course at university level
    education provided by an employer
    education provided through any office they hold - for example if your child has an official role such as scout leader or councillor, and the education is provided as part of that role
    training that is part of a job contract