As a Sole Trader - do i really NEED a A&L Business Account?

Options
Hi guys, i'm a Sole Trader and have a small internet-based business.

I get the odd sale here & there but not making huges amounts, by any stretch of the imagination!:(

I have an Alliance & Leicester Business account which i pay £5 a month for the 'privelege' of using.:mad:
I don't have a Debit or Credit card either, so why should i stay with A&L, they're not doing me any favours at all!

My question is, as a Sole Trader.....is it essential to have a Business Account - Can i not transfer to a regular Current Account?

Comments

• HC_2
    HC_2 Posts: 2,239 Forumite
    Options
    I'm a sole trader, and I have an ordinary current account for my business transactions. As far as I know (I've been a sole trader a good few years) there's no problem with it.
  • Leralc
    Leralc Posts: 14 Forumite
    Options
    You run the risk of your bank closing your current account if it gets reported! if you read the T&C's of your accout they are well within their rights to do this :rolleyes:

We have a business accouny with Abbey - its FREE FREE FREE !! especially given that most of our transcations go through paypal and very rarely do we pay money in by any other means !!

once the account was set we had no problems, except at the moment you cannot pay stuff in over the counter - it has to be posted to them and cash has to be processed through the machine in the branch....but i would recommend them especially cos its FREE !! :j

http://www.anbusiness.com/
  • HC_2
    Options
    Cahoot have no problem with it. I checked before I opened the account.
  • scorpio13
    scorpio13 Posts: 449 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Leralc wrote: »
    You run the risk of your bank closing your current account if it gets reported! if you read the T&C's of your accout they are well within their rights to do this :rolleyes:

Not quite sure what you mean by this?:confused: