Pricing Work

Options
CAN ANYONE HELP!
I HAVE BEEN A PAINTER AND DECORATOR FOR 15 YEARS, I WANT TO START UP A LTD COMPANY AFTER CHRISTMAS. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS I LACK THE TRIANING NEEDED TO ESTMATE AND PRICE JOBS AS WORKING FOR A FIRM DOES NOT TRAIN YOU FOR THIS. CAN ANYONE ADVISE ME ON HOW TO TACKLE THIS PROBLEM. EG/ courses available, websites etc.........
THANK YOU

Comments

• Nelski
    Nelski Posts: 15,197 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Photogenic
    Options
    Hi P123 and good luck with the new business venture (if your anywhere near Warrington I would say you will be well busy!)
    I would start by visiting your local business link which I found really helpful for the logistics of setting up your business. The banks and BS's offer some great software for planning your sales and marketing so go and visit lots of them and see what they will offer. For your type of business the local networking groups can be really useful (breakfast meetings and such like - but be careful not to pay lots to attend some are rip offs)
    Decide how much you would like to earn (ideal world) and how much you need to earn (to live!) add on any tax/ insurances/ expenses your business well have now consider how much you would want to be working (and what is reasonable to enable you to have some time off) Add in to the mix that you may have quiet times like Christmas or Summers hols and what you should end up with is daily rate. Its very much a rough guide but it helped me when I started - oh and remember not to charge too little! (People whilst they want value will generally choose a mid range quote so you dont want to always be the cheapest)
    All of this is just my opinion but it has worked really well for me - good luck and pm me if you want any more info.
    good luck
    Nels
  • P123_2
    P123_2 Posts: 21 Forumite
    Options
    Thanks Nelski
  • Pennywise
    Pennywise Posts: 13,468 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary