Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > In my home (includes DIY) MoneySaving > Flashing lights Indesit washer/dryer help please (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Flashing lights Indesit washer/dryer help please
Closed Thread
Views: 34,333
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
Taffyscot
Old 26-11-2007, 7:45 AM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 879
Default Flashing lights Indesit washer/dryer help please

Hi there,
When we first bought our washer/dryer the shop installed it at a price so I know it was done properly. Well the first time we went to use it the on/off light kept flashing and 2 other lights and it would not go on. Called the shop and they sent an electrician out, he spent about 5 minutes and mumbled something about there being nothing wrong with it but would fix the flashing lights. So I know this happened before and it took someone who knows what to do 5 minutes.
Well tried to put the washer on yesterday nothing, nada no lights or anything else. Then remember that OH had put a lot of dishes in the cupboard where the plug for the washing machine is housed. Went back under there and replugged the washing machine in and flicked the switch form off to on. Lights now so I assume that the dishes had knocked the switch off. Now the lights are flashing as before. On off switch flashing and 2 other lighs flashing and washing machine won't work. Anyone got any suggestions as we really don't have the money to pay for repairs and calling out an electrician for a simple matter. Any electricians out there or others that have had similar problems and solved them please help. Thanks in advance Taffy
Taffyscot is offline
Report Post
# 2
mabs
Old 26-11-2007, 7:31 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Hello I had the same problem a few months back and the electrician said it was something to do with programming the washing machine.
Sorry I can not help as my machine was under warranty.


When we first bought our washer/dryer the shop installed it at a price so I know it was done properly. Well the first time we went to use it the on/off light kept flashing and 2 other lights and it would not go on. Called the shop and they sent an electrician out, he spent about 5 minutes and mumbled something about there being nothing wrong with it but would fix the flashing lights. So I know this happened before and it took someone who knows what to do 5 minutes.
Well tried to put the washer on yesterday nothing, nada no lights or anything else. Then remember that OH had put a lot of dishes in the cupboard where the plug for the washing machine is housed. Went back under there and replugged the washing machine in and flicked the switch form off to on. Lights now so I assume that the dishes had knocked the switch off. Now the lights are flashing as before. On off switch flashing and 2 other lighs flashing and washing machine won't work. Anyone got any suggestions as we really don't have the money to pay for repairs and calling out an electrician for a simple matter. Any electricians out there or others that have had similar problems and solved them please help. Thanks in advance Taffy[/quote]
mabs is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to mabs For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
Taffyscot
Old 26-11-2007, 10:41 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 879
Default

Did it take long to fix please? Think I will have to get the electrician out. Anyone have any ideas or how much it is going to cost to call out an electrician? Really dont need this extra expense with xmas coming.
Taffyscot is offline
Report Post
# 4
busiscoming2
Old 27-11-2007, 2:56 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kent
Posts: 3,832
Default

Hi I have an indesit WIL133 washer,strangely enough mine played up yesterday as well. Have you cleaned the filter? This seemed to be the problem with mine. I had the flashing lights too. My machine is about 30 months old, but it first happened after about 11months, the engineer that came out (same flashing lights) said it was because we dont have much of a drop in the waste flow, as it has to empty from machine to drain about 20ft away! So check your pipes first and the filter.

I hope this helps.
busiscoming2 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to busiscoming2 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 5
Debt_Free_Chick
Old 27-11-2007, 3:23 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Beautiful Sussex
Posts: 13,141
Default

If you post the model number here, some MSEers have great Google skills and might be able to find some specific information online.
Debt_Free_Chick is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Debt_Free_Chick For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 6
Taffyscot
Old 27-11-2007, 3:40 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 879
Default

thanks bus I thought I had knocked it off then as I cleaned the filter and out came 2 x 50 pence pieces. So cleaned it and the container where the softener is and then replugged it back in and damn lights still flashing. Thanks for your help anyway. The washing machine is solid under the counter and I do not think I could pull it out to check the pipes. Thank you so much for trying to help. Taffy
Taffyscot is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Taffyscot For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 7
Debt_Free_Chick
Old 27-11-2007, 7:38 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Beautiful Sussex
Posts: 13,141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taffyscot View Post
thanks bus I thought I had knocked it off then as I cleaned the filter and out came 2 x 50 pence pieces. So cleaned it and the container where the softener is and then replugged it back in and damn lights still flashing. Thanks for your help anyway. The washing machine is solid under the counter and I do not think I could pull it out to check the pipes. Thank you so much for trying to help. Taffy
Result, eh?

Thanks to busiscoming2 I guess :confused:
Debt_Free_Chick is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Debt_Free_Chick For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 8
Taffyscot
Old 28-11-2007, 1:42 AM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Debt_Free_Chick View Post
If you post the model number here, some MSEers have great Google skills and might be able to find some specific information online.
Thanks for that debt-free just reading it now. Model no widli 1265 I think. Or w1dl1 1265. I have tried googling and wow I am famous what came up on googling was my original post on here lol
Come on you MSE with great google skills I challenge you to find an answer for me. quick before the plumber comes out on Thursday. Oh well at least I now have 2 x 50 pence to pay him from the machine better than having a slot machine at home. Taffy
Taffyscot is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Taffyscot For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 9
spankymonkey
Old 28-11-2007, 5:05 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: wisbech cambs
Posts: 790
Default

ask on here http://www.ukwhitegoods.co.uk/module...ys=0&start=100
the flashing lights may correspond with an error code.
spanky xx

DFW weight watchers 28lbs to lose
lost so far 11.5 lbs
spankymonkey is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to spankymonkey For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 10
Taffyscot
Old 28-11-2007, 6:42 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 879
Default

thanks spanky will try it I have done some googling myself but had no huge luck. will try it now. xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Taffyscot is offline
Report Post
# 11
kbh4031
Old 29-11-2007, 10:54 AM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Walsall, West Midlands
Posts: 1,037
Default

my old washer was an indesit and this happened once, i rang an engineer and he told me to reset the programmer. I have no idea if it would work on yours, try googling your machine model along with reset....worth a try:confused:
kbh4031 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to kbh4031 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 12
Taffyscot
Old 29-11-2007, 11:19 AM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 879
Default

thanks for that kbh an electrician came out today and said I need a new board as indesit newer models they do not put the codes in that the electricians can use. They want you to use their electricians. The model number that I think this model is is longer than most model numbers so I do not know if I have the right model number. Can anyone tell me how many number and letters should be in it? Thanks and kbh how many numbers were in yours? I think this is all it needs but apparantly indesit do not publish these or let the electrician have access to them. taffy
Taffyscot is offline
Report Post
# 13
matmad
Old 29-11-2007, 1:03 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 50
Default

We've got this model and it has been a pain in the backside. It's an 'S' at the end of the model number, not a 5. WIDL126S

It did the same thing as yours with the flashing lights when it was a few months old and still under warranty. Engineer came and fiddled with it and it was OK for a while.

Few months later it did it again and wouldn't spin unles I fiddled around with it. Eventually it gave up the ghost. A local washing machine fixer - lovely old chap - came round and diagnosed the problem.

Apparently the machine's brain (circuit board thingy or whatever) is situated in a vulnerable position, and if you use too much washing powder, it foams up all over the electrics and destroys them.

He had to send away for a new brain, which cost about £150 altogether with labour, etc.

He advised me to only use one washing tablet instead of the two I had been using. Washes just as well with one and saves money.

It's been ok since then, but I don't trust it now.
matmad is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to matmad For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 14
Taffyscot
Old 29-11-2007, 1:37 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 879
Default

thanks mat and I think there you have the problem my delightful oh has been putting the washing stuff in lately and I had bought soap powder and conditioner all in one and he informed me he was putting 2 caps in the wash and 1 cap in the conditioner window. ARrrrrrrrrrrrrrrgh I had to rewash about 5 loads as still full of soap powder being put in the conditioner tray. Costly thing getting oh to do the laundry. Yes electrician said I need a new board arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrgh again but thanks for that that explains it now. taffy
Taffyscot is offline
Report Post
# 15
Taffyscot
Old 01-12-2007, 10:43 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matmad View Post
We've got this model and it has been a pain in the backside. It's an 'S' at the end of the model number, not a 5. WIDL126S

It did the same thing as yours with the flashing lights when it was a few months old and still under warranty. Engineer came and fiddled with it and it was OK for a while.

Few months later it did it again and wouldn't spin unles I fiddled around with it. Eventually it gave up the ghost. A local washing machine fixer - lovely old chap - came round and diagnosed the problem.

Apparently the machine's brain (circuit board thingy or whatever) is situated in a vulnerable position, and if you use too much washing powder, it foams up all over the electrics and destroys them.

He had to send away for a new brain, which cost about £150 altogether with labour, etc.

He advised me to only use one washing tablet instead of the two I had been using. Washes just as well with one and saves money.

It's been ok since then, but I don't trust it now.
The part cost £150? Blimey I didn't think it would cost that much. Don't know whether I should buy a new washing machine or get it fixed. Trouble is we are thinking of moving and don't know if the new place that we get will have a wahing machine but don't really want to spend 150 on this piece of rubbish. Anyone got any suggestions? Yikes and xmas is coming
Taffyscot is offline
Report Post
# 16
maz16
Old 01-12-2007, 10:52 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 27
Default

taffy have you tried reseting the machine if you have black dots between programmes set it to any one and hold for approx 10 sec and see if it resets
maz16 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to maz16 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 17
Taffyscot
Old 01-12-2007, 10:57 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 879
Default

I have a knob that goes from one number to another there does not seem like black dots between the knob and the number. It just goes from 1 2 3 etc and nothing in between. This is a washer/dryer I do not know if this makes any difference. I will try to see tho. We had an electrician come out and he said indesit will not supply them with the codes to fix the machines like all the other manufacturers do. If that resetting was possible do you think he would have done it/ known about it? He seemed like a decent bloke and said he would price those boards for me. thanks anyway maz.
Taffyscot is offline
Report Post
# 18
maz16
Old 01-12-2007, 11:00 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 27
Default

sorry taffy only the ones with 3 spaced black dots cab be reset
maz16 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to maz16 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 19
maz16
Old 01-12-2007, 11:08 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 27
Default

taffy trade price for module 52.00 but you will get charged approx 80.00 plus labour not worth it as these are crap machines go to argos or tesco they usualy do good deals try for tricity bendix or zanussi but dont take shops cover get direct from manufacturer after year is up they will write to you if you are in england electrolux is ok too hope this helps avoid indesit service hotpoint and beko
maz16 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to maz16 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 20
Taffyscot
Old 01-12-2007, 11:44 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maz16 View Post
taffy trade price for module 52.00 but you will get charged approx 80.00 plus labour not worth it as these are crap machines go to argos or tesco they usualy do good deals try for tricity bendix or zanussi but dont take shops cover get direct from manufacturer after year is up they will write to you if you are in england electrolux is ok too hope this helps avoid indesit service hotpoint and beko
thanks for that yes the electrician said he could get me a Bosch for 360 installed and delivered and he will not even sell indesit as it is such crap. Trouble is I would do that but a house we were thinking of moving to the deal has fallen through and we are still looking. Even in rental places sometimes there are washers included sometimes there are not so I do not know what to do. If we were staying I think I would do as you suggest and get a new reputable machine. The electrician said it would be about 100 for new board but am still waiting for him to let me know. Thank you for taking the time to reply tho.
Taffyscot is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT. The time now is 2:08 PM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 29 October 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • VARIOUS ARTISTSBBC RADIO 1'S LIVE LOUNGE 2014
  • TAYLOR SWIFT1989 (DELUXE)
  • ED SHEERANX (DELUXE EDITION)

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.