Am I missing something about this finance plan?

Options
Hi,
I've started up as a self-employed carpenter/odd-jobs type person, and have let several jobs go due to not having a van yet. I'm partly waiting to hit the turn-around point on my current car lease (next 2/3 months should get me there), but also I've been trying to get my head around the best way to finance it, as my current income is scarcely consistent, and part of the affordability is unknown extra work from having a van.

My latest idea is to extend my mortgage (or remortgage) to cover the cost outright, as by my calculations this works out cheaper than my current deal per month (and that's the only thing that matters at the moment really), and allows me to over-pay when the extra-work comes in, hopefully still clearing everything in sensible time.

My current LTV is under 60%, so there's plenty of headroom on the mortgage.

Oh, and I'd prefer to buy the van outright as I am not too good at looking after the appearance of vehicles (scratches and mud everywhere), and would rather not have another tied-up 3 years of trying my best to keep it super clean!

Am I crazy? I appreciate to total amount I'll pay long term could end up being more, but my plan is to make over-payments, and last time I was earning enough to have spare cash I was very good at actually doing it, so I'm then just waiting on business picking up...

Cheers!

Comments

• Nobbie1967
    Nobbie1967 Posts: 1,473 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    My first thought was that you'll find it difficult to get a remortgage since you've just gone self employed and have no track record of income to finance the mortgage.

What about a PCP type deal and put away the extra you make using the van to pay the final payment at the end of the deal and keep the van.
  • GunJack
    GunJack Posts: 11,673 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Photogenic
    Options